Conference contacts

Latvia State Institute of Fruit-Growing

Postal address: Graudu 1, Dobele, LV-3701, Latvia

E-mail: (registration and abstracts) Phone: + 371 (6)3722294

Fax: +371 (6)3781718

„Sustainable Fruit Growing: From Plant to Product”



Conference proceedings

Conference proceedings in pdf are available here.
Adobe Reader is available here.

Conference presentations

Conference oral presentations in pdf are available here.
Adobe Reader is available here.

Some moments of conference



Dear colleagues,

We will be pleased to meet you at the international scientific conference „Sustainable Fruit Growing: From Plant to Product”, which will take place on May 28-31, 2008 and is organized by the Latvia State Institute of Fruit-Growing.

We had to change the place of conference sessions from that stated in the First announcement. We hope that will cause no inconvenience for you. The conference program includes plenary and poster sessions in the town of Jurmala (30 km from Riga) and a visit to the Institute orchards in Dobele, where we will also be pleased to show you our 200 cultivars large lilac collection in bloom.

A post-conference tour to commercial farms and Tervete Nature Park will be organized for willing participants on May 30.


Research of fruit crop genetic resources for use in production and breeding.

Fruit and berry breeding and variety testing for sustainable production.

Orchard management for sustainable fruit production.

Environment-friendly plant protection in orchards.

Fruit and berry storage, quality and biochemical studies.

Development of fruit and berry products with improved nutritional value.


May 28 – arrival at Jurmala
May 29 – conference sessions in Jurmala
May 30 – visit to Institute orchards in Dobele and post-conference tour (for choice)
May 31 – departure


Hotel registration: January 15, 2008

Payment of conference fee: March 30, 2008

Paper: May 29, 2008

Organizing committee 

Dr. Edite Kaufmane, Director of LSIFH

Dr. Mara Skrivele

Dr. Edgars Rubauskis

Dr. Inga Morocko-Bicevska

Dr. Dalija Seglina

M.Sc. Gunars Lacis

Secretary: Dr.Laila Ikase